advertisement
Language Acquisition News
June 28, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines

Discovering How the Brain Works Through Computation

Researchers propose a new computational system to expand the understanding of the brain at an intermediate level, between neurons and cognitive phenomena such as language. They have developed a brain ...

Chimpanzees Help Trace the Evolution of Human Speech Back to Ancient Ancestors

One of the most promising theories for the evolution of human speech has finally received support from chimpanzee ...

Origins of Human Language Pathway in the Brain at Least 25 Million Years Old

The human language pathway in the brain has been identified by scientists as being at least 25 million years old -- 20 million years older than ...

'Parentese' Helps Parents, Babies Make 'Conversation' and Boosts Language Development

A new study finds the value of using 'parentese,' an exaggerated speaking style that conveys total engagement with a ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:49am EDT

Earlier Headlines

The Brain Uses Minimum Effort to Look for Key Information in Text

The human brain avoids taking unnecessary effort. When a person is reading, she strives to gain as much information as possible by dedicating as little of her cognitive capacity as possible to the ...

How Effective Are Language Learning Apps?

Researchers recently conducted a study focusing on Babbel, a popular subscription-based language learning app and e-learning platform, to see if it really worked at teaching a new ...

Exploring the Use of 'Stretchable' Words in Social Media

An investigation of Twitter messages reveals new insights and tools for studying how people use stretched words, such as 'duuuuude,' 'heyyyyy,' or ...

New Linguistic Findings on the Prevalence of 'LOL'

A new study involving a scientific analysis of the prevalence of 'LOL' in students' text messages demonstrates important potential applications for classroom ...

Chinese to Rise as a Global Language

With the continuing rise of China as a global economic and trading power, there is no barrier to prevent Chinese from becoming a global language like English, according to new ...

New Genes Linked to Severe Childhood Speech Disorder

An international study has discovered nine new genes linked to the most severe type of childhood speech disorder, ...

Analyzing Patients Shortly After Stroke Can Help Link Brain Regions to Speech Functions

New research shows analyzing the brains of stroke victims just days after the stroke allows researchers to link various speech functions to different parts of the brain, an important breakthrough ...

At 8 Months, Babies Already Know Basic Grammar

Even before uttering their first words, babies master the grammar basics of their mother tongue, according to new ...

Not a 'Math Person'? You May Be Better at Learning to Code Than You Think

New research finds that a natural aptitude for learning languages is a stronger predictor of learning to program than basic math ...

Using a Cappella to Explain Speech and Music Specialization

Speech and music are two fundamentally human activities that are decoded in different brain hemispheres. A new study used a unique approach to reveal why this specialization ...

Bilingual Mash Ups: Counterintuitive Findings from Sociolinguistics

A new study exposes the fallacy of relying on pronunciation as a measure of linguistic ...

Babies from Bilingual Homes Switch Attention Faster

Babies born into bilingual homes change the focus of their attention more quickly and more frequently than babies in homes where only one language is spoken, according to new ...

Can Bilingualism Protect the Brain Even With Early Stages of Dementia?

Psychology researchers provide new evidence that bilingualism can delay symptoms of dementia. Researchers found bilingualism provides the brain with greater cognitive reserve, delaying onset of ...

Babies Mimic Songs, Study Finds

Researchers -- and parents -- have long known that babies learn to speak by mimicking the words they hear. But a new study shows that babies also might try to imitate the singing they hear in ...

The Use of Jargon Kills People's Interest in Science, Politics

When scientists and others use their specialized jargon terms while communicating with the general public, the effects are much worse than just making what they're saying hard to understand. In ...

Linguistics: The Pronunciation Paradox

Learners of foreign languages can hear the errors in pronunciation that fellow learners tend to make, but continue to fall foul of them themselves despite years of practice. A new study of shows that ...

Bilingual Language Program for Babies: Online Training for Teachers

A study shows that a bilingual language program for babies can reach more families, and instructors, through online training for ...

Traces of the European Enlightenment Found in the DNA of Western Sign Languages

符号语言在北美和南美and Europe have centuries-long roots in five European locations, a finding that gives new insight into the influence of the European Enlightenment on ...

Sleep Linked to Language Skills in Neurodevelopmental Disorders

New research has discovered that Down's syndrome, Fragile X syndrome and Williams syndrome are all linked to sleep disruption in very young children, and that sleep plays a crucial role in the ...

CLICS: World's Largest Database of Cross-Linguistic Lexical Associations

A team of scientists has published a new version of the Database of Cross-Linguistic Colexifications (CLICS), covering lexical associations in more than 3,100 languages varieties. The new version of ...

Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Monday, September 9, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Monday, August 26, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Monday, August 19, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, July 29, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Monday, June 17, 2019
Friday, June 14, 2019
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Monday, May 13, 2019
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Thursday, April 25, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 23, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019